• Course
  • Nursing

Comprehensive NCLEX Review Course

  • 10 - 20 Days
  • 59 Lessons
  • 100 Student Enrolled

Comprehensive NCLEX Review Course

  • Nursing
  • Updated on Saturday 22nd of June 2024

Course Overview

Passing all those rigorous exams and grueling clinicals shows your dedication and skill. There is just one more critical step standing between you and your Registered Nursing license, and we are here to help you on it.

What is the NCLEX-RN?

NCLEX® stands for the National Council Licensure Examination. Nursing school graduates take this test to pass national and state requirements and receive their nursing license.

Who takes the NCLEX-RN?

The NCLEX-RN is taken by all graduates of approved nursing programs who want to get their registered nursing (RN) license (both domestic and international). This exam measures the competencies needed to provide safe and effective patient care as an entry-level nurse. 

On the other hand, the NCLEX-PN focuses more on collecting client information and supporting care plans. To take the NCLEX-PN you typically must graduate from a vocational or practical school of nursing.

There are four major categories and eight subcategories on the exam. The categories all fit under the framework entitled, “Client Needs”. Let’s take a closer look at these.

Category 1: Safe and Effective Care Management

This category includes two subcategories:

Management of Care 

This subcategory includes activities that improve client care and decrease the number of medical services needed through treatment coordination. This helps reduce duplication of treatment, therefore improving client outcomes and managing costs. Some important aspects of management of care include understanding advance directives, case management, and client rights. Other practices include ethical practices and demonstrated knowledge of legal responsibilities, confidentiality, and continuity of care.

Safety and Infection Control 

Safety of nursing staff, as well as clients, will also be tested on the exam. This includes being able to demonstrate the ability to prevent the spread of pathogens, understanding of standard safety procedures, and accident prevention. Other activities that may appear on the test are the disposal of hazardous waste materials and surgical precautions.

Category 2: Health Promotion and Maintenance

The second main category of the exam is Health Promotion and Maintenance. This category examines the different health and medical needs of a person at all different stages of life. From newborn care, early childhood development, adolescence, and adulthood, humans encounter various health issues. The proficient RN will understand the medical needs of each stage in the aging process. Activities tested in the Health Promotion and Maintenance category include newborn care through geriatric treatments and all developmental stages in between.

Category 3: Psychosocial Integrity

This category includes processes by which a nurse cares for not only the physical, but also the mental, emotional, and social wellness of the people in their care. These processes include assessments of potential abuse or neglect, end-of-life care, support through grief or loss, and education on coping skills and aftercare. These skills are especially important for clients experiencing mental health crises or dealing with the aftermath of traumatic injuries. Nursing demands an understanding of how to interpret family dynamics and apply understanding of various cultures.

Category 4: Physiological Integrity

The Physiological Integrity category is broken down into four subcategories:

Basic care and comfort

Clients often need assistive devices to learn new ways of doing things or will need assistance with basic functions that they’ve been performing their whole lives. New issues around mobility, elimination, and personal hygiene will be addressed by nurses.

Pharmacological and parenteral therapies

Nurses administer medications as well as educate clients on how to self-administer. They will also evaluate the effectiveness and side effects of treatment and monitor for adverse effects. Other processes include identifying appropriate veins for intravenous medication, preparing dosages, and preparing clients for intravenous catheter insertion.

Reduction of risk potential

This process is critical for ensuring clients do not develop life-threatening complications related to medical treatment. The subcategory will include items related to reading laboratory reports and interpreting values, understanding diagnostic tests, and monitoring vital signs. Other important aspects include identifying possible complications and being able to respond to them.

Physiological adaptation

This aspect of meeting client needs revolves around providing care for clients with acute, chronic, or life-threatening medical issues. This complex subject includes dealing with alterations in body processes, dealing with health emergencies, responding to unexpected outcomes, and managing clients’ hemodynamics.

This course covers the materials you need to help you pass NCLEX on the first attempt.


Course Requirements
  • A medical science background
  • Self-motivation
  • Free or premium Medcrine account
  • Stable Internet connection

Course Curriculum

  • Task:
    Course assessment
  • Task:
    Downloadable course materials
  • Course completion digital certificate

Course Details

Premium Course
Course Features
  • Topic: Nursing
  • 59 Chapters
  • 60 Points
  • 100 Enrollments
  • Assessment
  • Certificate
About The Author

Dan Ogera

Founder and Editor
Medical Educator and instructor
30 Courses